GARD Planning Group and Executive Committee, 2015 – 2017 (click here)

GARD Planning Group and Executive Committee, 2017 – 2019 (click here)

GARD Planning Group and Executive Committee, 2019 – 2021

During the 2019 13th GARD General Meeting in Beijing, China, the GARD Planning Group and Executive Committee were elected.  The Planning Group has responsibility for co-ordination of the main activities of GARD, and is thus considered the ‘driving force’ of the Alliance. It collects and coordinates the reports on the activities of the collaborating parties, and submits new proposals and ideas to the General Meeting for its endorsement. The Executive Committee is responsible for the management of GARD, and offers overall strategic direction and guidance. It analyses for possible approval all proposals presented by the Planning Group before these are presented to the General Meeting for endorsement.

Members of the Executive Committee, 2019 – 2021

  • GARD Chairperson:
    Dr Arzu Yorgancıoğlu
  • GARD Vice-Chairperson:
    Dr Chen Wang
  • Representative of the World Health Organization:
    Dr Cherian Varghese
  • Representative nominated by GARD Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson and WHO and endorsed by General Meeting:
    Dr Mina Gaga
  • Representative elected by the General Meeting:
    Dr Talant Sooranbaev

Members of the Planning Theme Groups, 2019 – 2021

  • Surveillance: Dr Innes Asher
  • Research and e-communication: Dr Teresa To
  • Treatment: GOLD/GINA
  • Advocacy and partnerships: Dr Alvaro Cruz
  • Innovation and digital technology: Dr Jean Bousquet
  • Environmental health and CRDs: Dr Giovanni Viegi
  • Country support: Dr Marina Erhola
  • Patient group focal point: Ms Letitia Harding
  • Portuguese speaking countries: Dr Cláudia Conceição
  • Primary health care: Ms Siân Williams
  • Pediatrics: Dr Arunas Valiulis

Members of the Regional Groups, 2019 – 2021

  • African Region: Drs Elizabete Nunes & Asma El Sony
  • American Region: Drs Sandra Gonzalez Diaz & Rafael Stelmach
  • European Region: Drs Tamaz Maghlakelidze & Benard Pigearias
  • Eastern Mediterranean Region: Drs Mohammad Reza Masjedi & Yousser Mohammad
  • South-East Asia Region: Drs Digambar Behera & Kazi Bennoor
  • Western-Pacific Region: Ms Letitia Harding & Dr Lan Le Thi Tuyet

GARD Secretariat – WHO, Geneva

Advisor to GARD Chair – Dr Dean E. Schraufnagel